Thread: What software should I buy?

Default What software should I buy?

I am new to this and as I mentioned in my first post in another thread I have given up on Studio 10. So what should I try next. I have heard many mention Ulead. I have also heard Sony Vegas is good. I assume that all of this software will work with any capture device and capturing and editing analog video is not an issue, correct? I am looking for something that is as powerful as pinnacle without the problems. It would be nice if it is easy to learn to use also.

Thanks for the help.

Scott

Blog Entries

Best bet scott is to download a few trials and give them a whizz. My preference is Vegas, but it's horses for courses. Try them and see how you go. The trials will give you a great feeling for the complete programs.

I probably write this for the millionth time: it's all up to you, not the software. I get 100 people a day who read bad reviews about Pinnacle Studio, then buy it and then complain about it. Others who got it as a gift and they can afford or are too lazy to buy something better. Others who own state-of-the-art computers (that I wish I had myself) configured so well that they're only good for surfing the net and typing documents in Word.
    Pinnacle Studio is the best seller consumer NLE. I don't work for Pinnacle nor Avid, and I don't advertise for free. But believe me, I haven't had bad experiences with their software, not even in version 8 (years ago). All you have to do is read that manual and configure your system according to it. Sure, my Pinnacle Studio crashes too (occasionally), but only after I fix it I realise that, and wgy, it was my fault. And I haven't lost any project because of that.
    You want something else? Go ahead and buy Premiere Elements or anything else, but don't expect miracles!

thanks for the warm welcome to the board svhs.