Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please recommend... I'm new.

Default Please recommend... I'm new.

I'm a little new to this stuff, and I need a little direction. I'll tell you what I'm trying to do and I'd appreciate it if someone with a little more expertise would tell me what I have to do... Here's the scenario:
    I have 4 .avi movie files, each either 700 MB or 1.36 GB in size, all totalling about 4.12 GB. What I would like to ultimately do is have all these 4 movies burned onto a single layer DVD disk which will be playable on most standard DVD players...
    So, what do I have to do? Where do I start? Which programs should I use? How much coffee should I inhale?
    Your input is much appreciated.

Blog Entries

If you purchase DVD authoring software such as Ulead DVD MovieFactory, pretty much everything will be done for you - the software will convert your AVI files, author the DVD and even create automatic menus.

I've often burned 4 - 5 DivX movies on a DVD disc, 'as they were', and they played fine in home stand-alone DVD players. (Of course you gotta make sure your player supports DivX first)

If you want those DivX files converted to DVD then you may find my tutorial useful: http://www.videoforums.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=5545

I appreciate all your input, but svhs, I think you made a tiny mistake in your tutorial, where you instructed the reader to launch TMPGenc and goto the "Encoder" tab. I search high and low, until I found out that the "Encoder" tab isn't in the TMPGenc program, but rather in the DVD2SVCD program.

Ooops... sorry about that. But I'm glad if it helped.

Yes, it did help, thank you, but I'm left with some unanswered questions...