Thread: Dazzle DVC90 capture problems

Default Dazzle DVC90 capture problems

Hi

I'm new to all this, but want to convert old vhs tapes, commercial and taken from a tv, to dvd.

I've bought a Dazzle DVC90 which is suppossed to do this.

The vcr is elderly and only has a scart socket on it, so I'm using a scart lead which splits to a video and 2 audio jacks, which plug into the Dazzle. The pc is well above the spec needed.

I can't capture a thing. There's no sound, no video, and an empty file.

Dazzle support have had me downloading drivers, re installing etc etc, to no effect. I've also checked all the settings and it knows to accept video from a composite source, and to include audio.

Can someone give me some idea of how to do this. It seems to be impossible.

Thanks

Blog Entries

It's a tad strange that you're receiving no signal whatsoever. I think it's worth connecting the scart/AV lead to TV to ensure you're sending a signal from the VCR - some SCART connections have a nasty habit of being IN or OUT only.

Hi Mark - slight problem as we don't have a tv.

We were watching videos through the pc via a Hauppage tv card. Would this interfere withe the dazzle? I've made sure it's not used as the capture source.

Blog Entries

I wouldn't recommend using your TV card as you capture. It could be that this uses the same software rescources and is not enabling the Pinnacle software to create a video overlay. Even if that's not the case, your TV card will be hogging CPU resources, meaning you're more likely to get dropped frames (bad quality capture).

I think it's worth investigating whether your cabling is working though - even if that means knocking on someone's door and asking if you can connect your VCR to their TV. For some crazy reason, I'm assuming you're a student in halls.

HI

No student, i'm afraid - a 30 something mum who may have bitten off more than she can chew!

Hi Sarah