Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: NTSC Video Editing Monitors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    23

    Default NTSC Video Editing Monitors

    I have seen people use special NTSC monitors for thier video editing playback. I noticed in Premiere and After Effects, I have boundry lines available in the Monitor Window for Title and Action. What is the advantage of using the NTSC video editing monitors. One of the things that I want to do is edit video for local television broadcast. Is the monitor something I would need or could just use the built in features of Premiere and After Effects?

    LTrain

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bladon
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    Monitors are great for working with titles ECT. I use my monitors for alignment and general play back .Most "pro" editing suites include monitors and they are generally a helping hand.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    23

    Default

    So I could get by with using the feature in Premier Pro? Is there anything that the Monitors have that Premiere doesn't. I plan on getting one, but I just want to be educated on its purpose.

    Thanks,
    LTrain

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bladon
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ltrain2015
    So I could get by with using the feature in Premier Pro? Is there anything that the Monitors have that Premiere doesn't. I plan on getting one, but I just want to be educated on its purpose.

    Thanks,
    LTrain
    Yes you could. It just increases you're viewing space.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Gottcha!! Thanks Alot

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bladon
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ltrain2015
    Gottcha!! Thanks Alot
    It's ok.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri, USA, Earth, Sol, Milky Way, Local Group, Universe 42
    Posts
    329

    Default

    An additional value to an NTSC monitor is it's color range and levels will be a lot closer to what the TV viewer will see than your PC monitor. There are fundamental differences in gamma and chroma range levels between the two. The worst problem is with red and yellow saturation. Something that looks fine on your PC monitor may be totally saturated on a TV screen.

    Basically, if your video looks good on the NTSC monitor, it'll look good on a TV set.
    Fav quote - "Experience is whatcha don't get 'till ya don't need it no more."

    System - Athlon 1.4GHz, Win98, Hauppauge PVR250 receiver and compressor.
    Software -Magix Movie Edit Pro 10, Nero 6 + NeroVision Express, Moho 4.61, PSP 8.1, Bryce, Quicktime 6.52 pro, Goldwave 5, DVD-Lab.
    Cameras - Panasonic GS9, Canon ES8400V, Canon EOS D20 and Canon A70

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Ok, I buy that. So why should I spend $2000 on an NTSC monitor when I can buy a $59.00, 13in Orion and run rca video out from my video card to the television?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bladon
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ltrain2015
    Ok, I buy that. So why should I spend $2000 on an NTSC monitor when I can buy a $59.00, 13in Orion and run rca video out from my video card to the television?
    What you need to do is check your camera has DV out. If it has then take RCA (AV) out your camera and into scart/RCA socets of your avrage TV. I doesn't matter the price you pay you could buy a 50 TV and it would work the same.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ltrain2015
    Ok, I buy that. So why should I spend $2000 on an NTSC monitor when I can buy a $59.00, 13in Orion and run rca video out from my video card to the television?
    Indeed. What's the intended use of your setup: pleasure or commercial? Either way, I would think the money would be invested wiser elsewhere.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Capturing NTSC analog video
    By fiverings in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 09:53 PM
  2. NTSC video capture to a UK PC?
    By Simmo in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-05-2006, 01:33 AM
  3. Possible two monitors?
    By BigBadWimp in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-21-2006, 04:53 PM
  4. NTSC Video Camera & Premier Elements 2.0
    By Archer123 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2006, 09:06 PM
  5. Proper Video NTSC 4:3 Aspect Ratio
    By karmatized in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-01-2006, 02:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •