Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PC Vs DVD Player video capture quality

  1. #1

    Default PC Vs DVD Player video capture quality

    Hi

    I have a pioneer HD DV recorder If I transfer video direct from my camcorder via audio/video cable will I lose any quality compared with capturing to PC via USB?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I would assume that your recorder has firewire. This would be the best quality transfer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    brooklyn
    Posts
    174

    Default

    yes you will loose substancial quality if you use av cables. You would be virtually dropping the quality from 1920 x 1280 to 352 * 240 so you be the judge. Like mark just said use fireware or usb whatever digital transfer your camera supports, You will get full quality.
    freeformvideo.com: 3D Animated Menu\'s Transitions, Backgrounds or just about anything 3d all Animated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karmatized
    yes you will loose substancial quality if you use av cables. You would be virtually dropping the quality from 1920 x 1280 to 352 * 240 so you be the judge. Like mark just said use fireware or usb whatever digital transfer your camera supports, You will get full quality.
    Yes, you will, but unfortunately, in Standard Definition, the full resolution of PAL video (whether analog or DV) is just 720x576. You're mistaking it with your screen resolution . Unless of course we're talking HDV, in which case please accept my humble appologies.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    brooklyn
    Posts
    174

    Default

    well if you read it as i read it he did say HD DV which would imply high definition which 1080 is 1920 x 1080,

    and 720 is 1280 x 720
    thats how i came up with the assumpton
    freeformvideo.com: 3D Animated Menu\'s Transitions, Backgrounds or just about anything 3d all Animated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Yeah but what if he meant "hard disk recorder" ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    brooklyn
    Posts
    174

    Default

    ahhh thats true it is possible thats what he ment also. only he can tell
    freeformvideo.com: 3D Animated Menu\'s Transitions, Backgrounds or just about anything 3d all Animated.

Similar Threads

  1. Does Pinnacle capture from a VHS player?
    By BML in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-11-2007, 05:54 PM
  2. Video Capture and Output Settings for best quality?
    By Intwist in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-05-2005, 03:33 PM
  3. recording from separate video player onto a dvd player -
    By jackmant4 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2005, 10:57 AM
  4. Capture from DVD player using Canopus advc 100
    By bhars in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2004, 09:34 AM
  5. Need help with capture quality
    By myers368 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-30-2003, 06:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •