Thread: Advice on file format needed

Default Advice on file format needed

Hi all

I'm new to video editing and sorry for asking these very basic questions but I have to start somewhere, I guess.

I have about 20 VHS tapes that I need to convert to DVDs. This is how I planned to do it.

On my PC, I have WinFast TV2000xp video capture card. Plugged in VCR and capturing nicely on it. I cut the file sizes in 200 MB and then transfer them to mu G5 iMac. In there I convert them into DV where the 200 MB MPEG2 file becomes some 900 MB of DV. Then I import it into iMovie, do some editing there and export to iDVD.

But for some reason I think I'm doing something wrong. Firstly, when I export from iMovie to iDVD it took me good 20 minutes to process and then burn 3 minutes movie ! I just looked up on the DVD the one VOB file for 3 minutes of video is 270 MB, which would make an hour movie well over 5 GB. I guess it's just way too much.

Back to capturing, it's MPEG2 6000kbps, I thought of going with MPEG1 but would the video quality bu far worse in this case ?

Blog Entries

There seems to me to be a lot of unnecessary encoding going on there. Each encode loses quality and obviously takes time to render.

I would suggest you reassess your work flow, as it sounds like a lot of work! Essentiallt you are capturing to MPEG, encoding to DV, then encoding back to MPEG (DVD). How much editing are you doing? The final encode would be a lot quicker if you edited in MPEG (although I couldn't suggest any MPEG editors or plugins for the Mac).

I would suggest you look into a way of capturing direct to DV on your Mac (e.g by buying a firewire device such as a Canopus ADVC110), or on the PC (you may be able to do this using your setup, but the AVI wpon't be playable on the Mac), or as I suggest, look into a way of editing MPEG on your Mac.