Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can it be upgraded?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default Can it be upgraded?

    Hey fellas, I was hoping to upgrade my processor. Problem is, my computer's on the older side and I'm working with a socket 462 (or socket A as I'm to understand?). It's operates at 2.12GHz but everything I see on newegg.com is around there with the fastest at 2.2GHz (I admit I didn't research as much as I should have before posting and newegg.com is the only place I've looked so far).

    My current one is a AMD Athlon XP 2600+, would it be worth it to buy a AMD Athlon XP 3200+ at 2.2GHz? To be honest I don't know much about cache sizes or if I'll even notice a difference between the two. I would just like to update what I have because I'm actually quite happy with the computer for what it is. In addition to the processor I was just hoping for a dvd burner and maybe a graphic card supporting two monitors. After that I'll hopefully build a dedicated editing rig later on down the road.

    What do you think?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Oh and I wanted to ask: Could I safely overclock my current processor for the time being? I don't really know much about that either! (sorry )

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    IMO upgrading to another sk A CPU is pointless, in the long term. Time to go 64-bit (I mean Athlon64, socket 939, not the more expensive alternatives) if you can afford it now. Otherwise, overclock your 2600+ Athlon XP (you will probably get smth like 3000+) which is fair enough and save some more money.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default

    If going to 64bit means a new motherboard then it's not worth it. I guess what I'm saying is I just want to moderately beef up my current computer to breathe a little extra life in it. I'm not concerned with long term on this computer. But still, if you don't think I'll notice a difference then it's not worth it. Now on a dedicated editing rig I'd be more concerned with long term.

    Now to learn how to overclock...

    Thanks, svhs!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Might be worth beefing up your RAM.. how much do you have?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default

    512 originally, then added another 256 recently.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Get a full gig, what the hell... Whatever else you do, you still have to do this.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Uhrichsville Ohio
    Posts
    237

    Default

    If you think it is expensive, check out Tiger Direct

    extremely cheap, i buy stuff there all the time! and my new pc shiped in 3 days from purchase to my house, and it was standard shipping!
    Mac G5 workstation with 4 gigs of ram, 4x250 gig drives in raid 5. High availability cluster server running centos for a server. 2xCanon GL2 cameras.

    TuscSports.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default

    hmm... they don't seem to have what I'm looking for though...

Similar Threads

  1. Just Upgraded my pc completely....finally lol
    By Sithxace in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-17-2006, 04:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •