Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: AMD vs. Intel

  1. #1

    Default AMD vs. Intel

    which company performs better for video editing?

    instead of a 2.5 intel pentium 4, would a 2.0 amd processor be a big drop off?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    They say go for Intel.
    It really depends on your computing habits actually, and of course your budget...
    I'm really happy with my Athlon64.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Uhrichsville Ohio
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Im a big intel fanboy, my friend has an amd processor, and he cant export to tape in premeiere pro!!!!! i'd never buy an amd, i have a p4 3.4 ghz, with HT!!!
    Mac G5 workstation with 4 gigs of ram, 4x250 gig drives in raid 5. High availability cluster server running centos for a server. 2xCanon GL2 cameras.

    TuscSports.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grewell912
    Im a big intel fanboy, my friend has an amd processor, and he cant export to tape in premeiere pro!!!!!
    I don't think hose two are related

    Anyway, facts don't lie.

    If you're video editing, you have two options over what to go for:

    If you're going for a single core processor - go with the Pentium 4. They handle video encoding better. If you've got the cash to go Dual Core, go with the Athlon X2 over the Pentium D.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grewell912
    my friend has an amd processor, and he cant export to tape in premeiere pro!!!!!
    how smart must he be

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bladon
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by svhs
    Quote Originally Posted by grewell912
    my friend has an amd processor, and he cant export to tape in premeiere pro!!!!!
    how smart must he be
    All most as smart as me!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Luke, no mortal can match your wisdom! :twisted:

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mihai
    Quote Originally Posted by grewell912
    my friend has an amd processor, and he cant export to tape in premeiere pro!!!!!
    how smart must he be
    edit: After reviewing matrox compatibility, I'd go with intel.

  9. Default

    The AMD AM2 is out in June I believe, and the buzz is that it's pretty damn good. Intel have a new line coming out in July I think.

    However, almost everything I've read about AMD vs INTEL talks about performance in games and the CPU's ability to multi-task. I've yet to see a review that really looks at them both from a video editing point of view. That would be an interesting read.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grewell912
    Im a big intel fanboy, my friend has an amd processor, and he cant export to tape in premeiere pro!!!!!
    Nothing really to say - jus wanted to jump on the bandwagon of quoting the above rediculous statment!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Imac Intel + Sony HDR-SR1
    By Michaelangelo in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-18-2007, 10:25 AM
  2. What software for a Intel Mac?
    By adrianko in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-14-2006, 09:29 AM
  3. Intel or AMD
    By ryanlc in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-25-2006, 01:58 AM
  4. Opteron/Xeon VS AMDx2/Intel-D
    By Washburn in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-14-2006, 10:29 PM
  5. INTEL vs. AMD?
    By koolage in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 09:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •