Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Do I Need Duel Core Processors? Which would you recommend?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Astoria NY, USA
    Posts
    59

    Default Do I Need Duel Core Processors? Which would you recommend?

    Just as the title says. I'm putting my editing rig together piece by piece, and now i'm up to the dreaded "which mobo/processor to use" segment. i'm totally clueless as to which way to go. i know there isn't a lot of practical uses for dual core at the moment - i plan on using my general all purpose PC to go online/play games while i wait to encode my video or burn DVDs on my editing rig, so i'm thinking i might not get a lot of mileage.

    i'm so lost as to which processor to get now. i just wish there was a place on the internet that simply said "this is the best mobo/processor you can get for this price range". i'm in the home stretch, fellas, so let me know which way i should go.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I would check with software vendors if the stuff you use can take advantage of dual core processors.

    I should think most stuff will.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Depends on your budget.

    I recommend the Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe motherboard and one of the AMD X2 processors, the highest rated one you can afford.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    This is what we all need, up to 8 dual core opterons....

    http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8qw.html

  5. #5

    Default

    i am also going to be getting a new system i think i will go for the AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4800+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Nice jo, if you do pls let us know how vegas uses those 2 sexy cores.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zaskar
    Nice jo, if you do pls let us know how vegas uses those 2 sexy cores.

    Hi

    will do no probs

    But it won’t be until next year sometime in january 06 tho, then i will start getting all the bits needed to build the system. i wonder how long its going to take on something like this to render 1 hour of pure HD footage, will be interesting.

    Also just a quick tip for anyone if you want to get the 4400+ you could easily overclock it to the 4800+ speed but make sure you know what your doing first.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Astoria NY, USA
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Thorpe
    Depends on your budget.

    I recommend the Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe motherboard and one of the AMD X2 processors, the highest rated one you can afford.
    ok, this settle it - i'm gonna get the Athlon 64 X2 as well. someone else in another message board also recommended it.

Similar Threads

  1. Do I need 64bit Win XP for a dual core 64 bit CPU?
    By Elton333 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2007, 09:51 PM
  2. dual core & other questions
    By Dj_Trigger in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-20-2006, 03:35 PM
  3. Please recommend... I'm new.
    By mza1979m in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-10-2006, 05:27 PM
  4. AMD DUAL CORE PROCESSORS AND PREMIER PRO COMPATABILITY
    By G0UDG in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-23-2006, 10:55 PM
  5. DUEL VIEW
    By fastedit in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-07-2004, 11:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •