Thread: New at Editing Video--need hardware and advice/info

Default New at Editing Video--need hardware and advice/info

[align=justify:755c35f15c]Hi, I just recently purchased a digital DV camcorder. I am really excited about recording--making movies, etc.

I just realized though, reading through some messages, that it is a must--in terms of quality, and stuff--that I need to transfer my video recordings through a firewire, which my computer does not have.

I'm really new to this kind of stuff, so I was debating whether or not just to get a firewire for my computer (internal) or external with a hardrive. I have a 120GB hardrive on my computer, but it is partititioned into two, one 12GB, and the other, the remaining of the 120GB. I was wondering, what would you guys with experience would recommend? I don't know the amount of hard drive space I would need to complete short videos-4 minutes long, to longer productions like 20+ minutes.

Possible insights on what I should do? What kind of firewire I should get. I am also low on budget too, so I would want to try and keep the price as low as I can, in terms of if one is external and includes a hardrive, or just a firewire card. Possibly what software? (I know this is a hardware forum...), possibly links to getting started?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.[/align:755c35f15c]

Bristol uk
    Blog Entries

You will need a fire wire card. The drive is fine nutill it is full, then just delte stuff or add another, and another, and another........ I am up to 6 now.

Western Europe

Hi Boatsink