Thread: Newbie needs advice!

Default Newbie needs advice!

Hi all!

I'm new to this game and about to shoot my first movie, which will be of a school Christmas play. I'm intending to use 2 cameras, one static, one for close-ups etc. Any general advice would be appreciated - I only get one go at this.

I'll be editing using Premiere Elements 2 - is there an easy way to make sure that the clips are in sync when I put together the footage from the 2 camcorders?

Many thnnks.

Make sure you have a good secure place to put that static camera so no one will fall over it. Make sure it is plugged into the mains power supply and use gaffa tape to stick cables to the floor. Let it run from start to finish so you have a complete audio track and use your mobile camera to get your close ups, cutaways and reaction shots of the mum's and dad's in the audience. What are you like for lighting? Is there a PA system? I'm not an audio expert but maybe someone who is could give you some pointers on taking a feed from an audio mixing desk. Make sure you get a few establishing shots of the outside of the building aswell including a name plaque or whatever. Get people arriving and going in and if possible preparing (arrive early to do this). How many sets of batteries have you got? You'll need a few sets and bring a charger with you aswell and plenty of tapes.

An easy way to get the audio in sync - drop your imported clips into the timeline, and play both your static camera (with audio) and close up (with audio). As you begin to line up the two video tracks on top of eachother, you'll be able to tell when your audio is perfectly in sync - you won't get that "echo" effect any longer. Once the two videos are perfectly aligned, simply get rid of one audio track.