Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problem with clip export in Premiere 6

  1. #1

    Default Problem with clip export in Premiere 6

    Hi,

    My boss recorded some footage of an experiment on his dv cam, and then his friend put it straight onto cd without editing it. It is in mpeg1 format.

    I have been given the cd in this format, but need to cut it down to a few short clips showing when the chemicals react etc, as it is currently quite dull to watch for the most part.

    I have edited several key clips, but when i export them from P6 the resulting file is jerky, as if frames have been dropped.

    I am quite new to this so not sure where im going wrong. I have tried numerous different settings for output, but they all produce the same problem.

    The frame size of the original video is 352x288, which seems slightly unusual to me.

    My system is Athlon 1700xp, 512mb ram, ATI Radeon 9600 128 Pro card. I cant get access to the original dv so recapturing is not an option.

    Do i need a special encoder to ensure quality output, or is it something else? What would be the best settings for export?

    Any pointers much appreciated.
    Rexmonster...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    The frame size you mention is the PAL standard for VCDs. To be honest, you're best bet is to preserve the video in the existing format - so try exporting with this frame size and MPEG1.

    It would help if you could explain what settings you have tried...

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi,

    I can choose either Microsoft AVI or Microsoft DV AVI from the file type list when i select file/export clip/movie, the rest are image sequence options. I have kept the resolution the same size etc, and tried it with and without all the basic 'compressors' that come as standard with Premiere 6.

    Hope this helps.
    Rexmonster...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Choose the Adobe Media Encoder, and export as a VCD stream.

  5. #5

    Default

    I dont appear to have that option, just the following choices in this list:

    Microsoft DV AVI
    Microsoft AVI
    TIFF Sequence
    TARGA Sequence
    GIF Sequence
    Animated GIF
    Filmstrip
    Flc/Fli
    Windows Bitmap Sequence
    Rexmonster...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Maybe a Premiere 6.5 thing, but its under File > Export Timeline > Adobe Media Encoder.

  7. #7

    Default

    Looks like i need 6.5 then as it isnt an option in my version.
    Rexmonster...

Similar Threads

  1. Premiere export problem Urgent
    By crippen in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-20-2006, 11:14 PM
  2. Premiere Pro 2-Clip Notes Problem
    By murph in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-2006, 11:06 AM
  3. Export to Tape Problem
    By KOB in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2004, 11:17 AM
  4. export to tape problem in premiere v7.0
    By fAuLk in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-05-2004, 07:35 AM
  5. premiere 6, clip speed problem, pls help
    By SLUGFly in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2004, 10:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •