Thread: Firewire substitute

1. Default Firewire substitute

I have a question that might belong in left field, I have a hitachi DVD camcorder that came with a USB cable so I assume that the port on the camera is USB. Can I plug a firewire cable into the camcorder and then into my computers firewire port to capture?

I took a look at the sticky above but just wanted to clarify if this exact setup is even possible.

Thanks

Blog Entries

DVD camcorders don't normally have firewire connections. Users have reported that the best way to edit footage from a DVD camcorder is to copy the VOB files to your PC (pop the DVD into the drive and drag the files).

3. Default

right, my camera does not have a firewire connection as stated, I have saved the .VOB files on my comp, and have tried several different conversion programs ( to .avi) once in adobe premier it plays with a very jagged effect not smooth. I have tried other .avi files from tutorials that I am studying and they play without pause.

Blog Entries

Premiere dislikes MPEG. To edit your VOBS in Premiere, follow step 10 of the FAQ - http://www.videoforums.co.uk/reviews/faq

5. Default

uhm, dont mean to be rude here and yes I am looking for help, I didnt say anything about an MPEG ..... as stated the conversion is .VOB to .AVI, no need for a run of the mill. I appreciate the response as I believe you have given this one many times (possibly canned), I have been quite specific.

Thanks

Blog Entries

VOB files are essentially MPEG files as described in the FAQ. It's therefore the same process as described in the step 10 of the FAQ.

7. Default

ok, thank you, I will definatley give that a shot.

8. Default