Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Firewire?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3

    Default Firewire?

    Do you have to have a firewire port and connnection to import video from a DV tape? Because when I import mine on a USB 2.0 it seems like it takes still frames and puts them together.

    Please help....btw I have a Panasonic camera

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    MiniDV camcorders are designed to take advantage of a firewire connection, which is more suited to multimedia transfer than USB. The clue is in the name - the connection on most cams is labelled 'DV connection', which is actually a firewire port.

    So, yes, you need firewire.

    f)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thanks

  4. #4

    Default

    I had same problem, bought a firewire port and cord off ebay for a cheap $10 and works great besides the huge file sizes of DV. Qualitywise though, it is better then if you veiw it on a tv through A/V out

Similar Threads

  1. Please help with Firewire and USB
    By cobble in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-04-2006, 08:33 AM
  2. firewire
    By nickg in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-31-2005, 11:51 AM
  3. Firewire
    By jimmy3500 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 09:53 PM
  4. PCI X Firewire
    By andreklc in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-03-2005, 09:39 AM
  5. FireWire 800
    By Marc Peters in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-16-2004, 08:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •