Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: The purpose of using 2 monitors?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Astoria NY, USA
    Posts
    59

    Default The purpose of using 2 monitors?

    what's the purpose of using 2 monitors when editing? i'm slowly but surely assembling the parts for my dedicated rig, and i want to know if i'll have to add a 2nd monitor to my list.

    well, i'm sure i *will* add a 2nd monitor to my list, i'd just like to know why.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    A bigger canvas to work with... less clutter.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    I use two monitors at home for premiere elements. On one screen I have the timeline and effect / controls, the other side I have the output monitor and media list. Just gives you more room to work with.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sidcup, Kent
    Posts
    183

    Default

    do you need two graphics card to use two monitors or is it something the NLE package can do in software?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default

    I do beleive that you need one graphics card that supports two monitors.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    You can either have one video card with two outputs, or two seperate video cards.

    As for how to use it, windows sees the second monitor as an extension of the desktop, so automatically supports it. All you need to do is just resize the window of the application of your choice, and drag it over to the second monitor.

    It's also useful for doing stuff like web design - dreamweaver in one window, browser for previewing in the other.

    Oh, and for watching DVDs whilst you type!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Astoria NY, USA
    Posts
    59

    Default

    awesome!!! thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Depends on the brand of graphics card. Most nVidia cards support two monitors, one digital and one analogue with D-SUB or S-video output. Although you can spread your Windows desktop over two monitors (Dualview mode on nVidia cards), you can also use Clone mode and send your video overlay to the second monitor. This means that any program that displays video, such as Windows Media Player or your NLE software, will automatically display video in full screen straight to your second monitor. A bit tricky to set up sometimes but ideal for editing video 'cos you see your previews filling the second monitor instead of lurking in a small window on your main monitor

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    54

    Default

    My reccommendations you ask?

    If you can have 2 monitors, absolutly go for it

    If you don't have 2 monitors, it should be high on your upgrade list

    If you absolutly can't have two monitors ever, then I am sad :(
    My System Specs:

    Cameras: 2 x Canon XL1s
    Computer: Dual Intel Xeon 2.8Ghz processors (hyperthreaded) - Intel SE7505VB2 mother board - 2 Gb PC2100 RAM kingston -Adaptec FireConnect 4300 -2xseagate 10K scsi hdd 150G ea -2xseagate 7200 ide hdd 200G ea - Plextor PX-708A DVD burner - ATi Raedon 9800Pro video with Dual SUN 21\" monitors - Sound Blaster Platinum live!
    Software: Windows XP Pro with SP2 - Pyro Pro (adobe\'s premier pro, encore DVD, and audition bundle)

  10. #10

    Default

    Hi

    i got my self a 21" widescreen lcd monitor thatís great very big and lots of room for everything on screen. graphics card needs DVI VGA S video then you can connect 2 monitors

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 40" LCD Monitors
    By Marc Peters in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 07:55 PM
  2. Possible two monitors?
    By BigBadWimp in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-21-2006, 04:53 PM
  3. Dual Monitors - Really necessary?
    By Alan Mills in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-23-2004, 02:49 AM
  4. pinnacle 9 and two monitors
    By ad47uk in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-15-2004, 10:12 PM
  5. Two monitors, one system
    By cory in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-08-2004, 08:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •