Thread: DV Capture Aspect Ratio Problems

Default DV Capture Aspect Ratio Problems

I am new at this, just starting the task of producing DVD from my Digital 8 Sony tapes.
    Using firewire, the only digital out from the camera, I have not found one program that will allow me to adjust to the 640x480 ratio. All the captues default to 720x480 and the playback is distorted, thin people are fat etc.

The only one that allows me to adjust is Movie Maker, but I wind up with .wmv which is unusable. I have a Turtle Beach device for USB work with analog, but it does not automatically give me scene changes as the DV stream.

Is there a way to make avi from my DV capture and have it adjust to the recorded 4:e ratio? My plan B is to just capture in analog and work harder editing.

XP, HP Pavilion 3.0, 512, variety of capture S/W

Thank you

Bob
    Bob Hamilton
    Poconos, PA

Blog Entries

Hi Bob.

What programs have you tried to capture and/or edit with so far (Other than WMM)? Perhaps with a clue of what you have, we can advise settings etc.

Mister Crane, Thank you for the reply. The civility of UK gentlemen is always apparent and appreciated. Send some of it over to the colonies.

I have a Turtle beach black box for analog capture, but the Software they bundled is Video Advantage, and Cyberlink Power Director 3. I also have Nero Start Smart bundle, and a Ulead program I don't like.

I want to capture in avi, and edit from there..It seems the DV capture defaults to 720x480, and the firewire can't " fight" with it. The config Frame Format adjustments are grayed out.

I suspect the firewire is the problems..these programs look for USB, and my Sony Digital8 only has a firewire output. I can use S connections and do analog, but I had hoped for digital capture.

Cheerio and thenks[/b]
    Bob Hamilton
    Poconos, PA

Bob