Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DV tape to WMA format?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London - SW
    Posts
    3

    Default DV tape to WMA format?

    Hi All, bit of an ameteur in this area, but have looked elsewhere for info and all incredibly vague, hopefully one of you can reccomend something. Promise I won't fire a torrrent of abuse at you like the replies I've seen already

    Bullet point to make it a short one:
    I've got a DV cam (no USB port on, AV output only).
    I've got 8 DV tapes containing a mix of movie and still images.
    I need to get all these files in to a PC useable format.
    How can I do this? bearing in mind I don't have USB connexions available to me.

    Cable? Graphics card + software? Am I flogging a dead horse, or should I just pay someone to do it for me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Doesn't have a USB port? Does it have firewire?

    What's your camcorder model?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London - SW
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Does have a firewire port, managed to find that much out.

    It's a JVC GRD225E, unfortunately, when I called the manufacturers, and asked them about accessories + cables, all they could do was reel off model numbers and things, but not tell me which part did what. Appalling. Need to get my hands on a Firewire cable now.

    Thanks for the reply though!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default

    The name of this forum should be changed from Video Editing Forums: Digital Director to Firewire is the One True Transfer Method! All Bow Down Before Firewire!
    Up to $.04 now! I'll be swimming in money in no time!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London - SW
    Posts
    3

    Default

    erm...thanks for that. really helpful, cheers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Oh, don't mind me, I just think I'm witty.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bladon
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    well u r*









    *ish

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    B. Falls, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    399

    Default

    :P

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Swanny - yeah, once you've got a firewire card/cable and got it plugged in, you should be ready to go. If all you want to do is capture the stuff, you can probably just use windows movie maker. If you're looking for something a bit more fully featured, check out Adobe Premiere Elements. I use it and swear by it.

    BigBadWimp - shush.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-26-2007, 12:33 PM
  2. Tape to Web Site Format
    By TDA-Digital in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2006, 07:54 PM
  3. HD format
    By FNG in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-06-2006, 02:47 PM
  4. Which format can I use?
    By dhphoto in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2006, 08:23 PM
  5. Camcorder Format: Tape vs Harddrive ?
    By chetnet in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2006, 08:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •