Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Basic help required: Capture video screen size in Prem 6.5

  1. #1

    Default Basic help required: Capture video screen size in Prem 6.5

    Hi There,

    I have captured raw .avi video through DV/firewire at 720 x 576 using Adobe Premiere 6.5.

    I am happy with the quality when I play the .avi through Windows Media Player but the picture size is too small (about 1/4 the screen size).

    Obviously I want the final video to fill the screen and be good quality. Is there some way to capture the video at a greater size?

    Is there something I should be doing with bitrate?

    I'm sure this is a stupid question, but I would appreciate some newbie help.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Standard Definition Video resolution is 720x576 so you aint gonna get it any bigger. Remember compared to computer resolution video is crap. PC res goes from 800x600 - 2560x1920 so video will never fill a computer screen but rest assured when its on a TV it will be fine.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks irishmark,

    So howcome when I play a DVD on my computer it fills the screen with no (appreciable) loss of quality? Is this to do with the size it is encoded to in DivX?

    I want to play my vidoes on the PC rather than a TV. How do I ensure that I get a nice full-screen quality picture?

    Excuse the stupid questions, but I want to make sure I'm getting the best out of the video.

    Regards

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    there is a loss its just not noticable.

    If you are using Windows Media PLayer you can make it fill the screen - look through the menus. Most if not all players have a full screen feature.

  5. #5

    Default

    My captured video was through a DV cable at 720 x 524, 8min of footage gave a file size of about 1.8Gb (.avi file).

    The quality looks good at 100% zoom, but when increased to full screen in Windows Media Player the quality is poor! (I would expect something equivalent to DVD quality).

    Have I done something wrong during capture? (I don't think so)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    its possibly an interlacing issue - when u caprured did you have de-interlacing selected also is the source footage good quality?

  7. #7

    Default

    Thanks for your help.

    The source footage is straight off my Panasonic GS250 DV.

    I'll check the interlacing issue when I get home tonight - should de-interlacing be selected?

Similar Threads

  1. croping video screen size
    By dr_alinaeem in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2007, 12:15 PM
  2. DVD Plays on wide screen at 1/3 of the screen size
    By geisha-girl in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2006, 05:30 AM
  3. Choosing out of my HDDs for video capture? (cache size)
    By wasaa in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 01:54 AM
  4. Split screen help required?
    By Baggers in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-13-2004, 11:37 PM
  5. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 12:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •