Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DVD Architect 3.0 help

  1. #1

    Default DVD Architect 3.0 help

    Okay, i'm new to the editing stuff but for some reason when i put a clip into a menu in this program it says that it has taken up 680mb when the clip is only really 140mb. What am I doing wrong? I'm sure it's probably something easy to fix. Thanks for your time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Sounds to me like the file you've imported isn't DVD compliant. The software would therefore have to convert to compliant MPEG2 streams to create a playable DVD.

    What are the settings of your imported file?

  3. #3

    Default

    It's a wmv file... are you saying that i would have to convert it to a different file type for it to work on the disk?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Architect will convert for you but it does a rubish job. Always when using architect render your videos as mpeg2 first.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irishmark
    Architect will convert for you but it does a rubish job..
    Ha Ha Ha.!

    Absolutely spot on Mark. It also takes a blimmin millenium to do!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    pap3rcut, what is the source of your WMV file?

  7. #7

    Default

    Sorry, like I said i'm new to this so I'm not sure what your asking. All I know is that it is a video file saved as a wmv and was made in windows movie maker so if you explain further it would help a lot. Thanks again-

    also when saving i'm saving movies would it be best to save to avi, even though it makes it a HUGE file?

    and then if i don't save it as an avi I have an option for 2.1 Mbps or 2.1Mbps NTSC what's the difference? Sorry about all the questions

    I've tried to work w/ sony vegas 6 but it's just really complicated for me to figure out but it is probably a much better program to use.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    pap3rcut.

    It really sounds as if you are a complete novice to video editing and don't have a grasp of the basics. You really should have done a little more legwork before going out and buying Vegas or DVDa. They are both high end programs that demand some basic knowledge from the operator.

    To spoon feed step by step instructions here is pointless really.

    I would say you're best bet is for you to sit down with the manuals that come with Vegas and DVDa and really go through them thoroughly. This will help you no end and allow you to ask the questions that are not contained within them.

    There also is the help files of course (top right of your shortcuts, marked "Help")

Similar Threads

  1. Help with architect
    By TWIY in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 03:57 PM
  2. dvd architect
    By blyx in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-13-2006, 12:15 PM
  3. Sony dvd architect
    By toymachine2009 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-2005, 01:53 PM
  4. DVD Architect?
    By X__Alien in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-25-2005, 10:57 PM
  5. Using DVD architect how do I....
    By Outrun in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-09-2005, 01:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •