Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help please! I can't record my edited video onto DV tape

Default Help please! I can't record my edited video onto DV tape

I'm a relative beginner at all this but I've managed to capture and edit a video on my PC and I now want to transfer it to a VCR tape but this is proving a big problem for me. I've been trying to record the video back onto my camcorder but every now and then when recording the camcorder flashes up 'No Signal' and the recording is temporarily interrupted with a blue screen before going back to recording again. I have no idea whether it's a problem with my PC or the camcorder. Please help me! It's driving me insane. I wonder whether trying to record from my PC straight to a VCR would be better but I have no idea what equipment I need to do that.

What type of Video Camera are you using?
    What software are you using to transfer to the Camera?
    What type of leads are you using?
    Any other details on Operating Systems and other software would also be useful.

The camcorder is made by Sharp model VL-Z8H.
    I've tried using Edit Studio and Videowave III to transfer the video but the same problem occurs with both.
    I'm using a DV cable from the PC to the camcorder.
    My operating system is Windows XP. I have 2 hard disk drives - 160GB each - with a master/slave relationship. The hard disk with the video and software on (the slave) I reformatted to the NTFS file system to be able to build a file larger than 4GB but the master drive is still FAT32. Could that be anything to do with it?

I would definitely keep trying with the PC to Camera via firewire.

I must say that I don't personally use the software you mention. However,