Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: scale to safe margins

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    east yorks england
    Posts
    16

    Default scale to safe margins

    i edited some footage and spent hours fooling around adding titles music etc only to find my tv cuts a large percentage of the picture out.
    i then noticed safe margins and realise i should have worked out the exact size of these not the standard 720 x 500whatever but smaller so as to be able to see what i am producing. this would have been easier in the beginning to set properties /scale to and set a size but i didnt and now i have 4 sequences of clips at the wrong size.
    i have put all my titles on one video track and put them in the right position but want to know the quickest /easiest way to scale down the video clips. does anyone know the size of the smallest safe margin in prem pro 7?
    cheers
    one day we will all be dead

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Conventional method is to ignore safe areas except for titles. Simply place the titles within the safe area as displayed in the Preview window. You do not need to scale the video, just make sure the safe area markers are on and the titles within these white borders.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    east yorks england
    Posts
    16

    Default

    cheers for reply marc but on a couple of shots the tip of my penis just comes into shot for comedy effect - sick i admit but this is lost on my tv.
    too much is lost ie tops of peoples heads and when i panned in to just fit in a shipwreck this again has the ends missing.
    if i wanted to reduce the size how would you suggest i do it?
    one day we will all be dead

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    You must have a tiny...

    Anyway, you're losing a lot of the picture. The risk you take by "zooming in" is that you'll get a black border on a TV with a less severe overscan.

    To zooom out, go into the effects controls with the clip selected, then open up motion and reduce the scale to less than 100.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    east yorks england
    Posts
    16

    Default

    i have approx 50 clips on each of 4 sequences and if i do them one by one and render them it will take ages maybe an hour of longer. if i try and multiple select it says no clip selected. nay ideas how to do block conversion?

    when you scale all imported clips to projects default setting in properties they adjust in no time at all and i will do this in future
    it works out 85 percent to allow a tiny fraction for overscan.
    one day we will all be dead

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I sounds to me as if your imported video is not to the specifications of your project settings. You really shouldn't be seeing such a high loss of the frame. What is the source of your video and what are your project settings?

    To apply effects to multiple clips, create a new timeline and drop the old timeline on the new one.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    You must have a tiny...
    lol

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    east yorks england
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    I sounds to me as if your imported video is not to the specifications of your project settings. You really shouldn't be seeing such a high loss of the frame. What is the source of your video and what are your project settings?

    To apply effects to multiple clips, create a new timeline and drop the old timeline on the new one.
    its bog standard dv footage and default project settings of 720 by 576 or whatever and its only the overscan on my tv that messes things up. it gets worse if i go to other widescreen options. the smallest picture i get cuts off to around 83-85 % almost coinciding with the safe margins.
    i am gonna burn 2 tracks to dvd one at 100% and one at 85% so when i get another tv that maybe has less cut off i wont have to stare at black borders. ive seen you recommend dropping the timeline before but cant find a way to do this. i can create new sequence but cant drag old one on it either.
    please help!!!
    one day we will all be dead

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    What version of Premiere do you have?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    east yorks england
    Posts
    16

    Default

    its version 7 prem pro

    also i import audio and use the audio from my dv footage and if i leave the levels alone it crackles only on dvd but not in prem pro whilst editing and playing back
    i have to mess around with the levels and guess a level that wont distort on dvd if u get my drift
    cheers

    edit/update - i was trying to drag sequences from timeline to timeline for some reason not thinking to do what i had been doing prob a hundred times and drag from project window to timeline so i have acheived nesting.
    also the audio problem - i just used audio mixer and reduced the master to avoid clipping or going into the red.
    i am gonna play around with dynamics effect as a lot of my footage has background wind (not flatulence) so i can see another topic being started soon unless i find what i want in a search or stumble across the solution.
    marc can u answer this post of mine too seen as though you seem to have your finger on the pulse?
    http://www.videoforums.co.uk/viewtop...6f9f86ff599230

    cheers
    al
    one day we will all be dead

Similar Threads

  1. black margins ?
    By anarchy12 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2006, 02:36 PM
  2. how to stop premier rendering at half scale?
    By mudpuppy in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-24-2006, 09:43 PM
  3. title safe
    By grewell912 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2006, 12:27 PM
  4. A sense of scale
    By Marc Peters in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-03-2005, 10:42 AM
  5. safe area on tv
    By samadeus in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2004, 08:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •