Thread: help please

Default help please

can anyone help pleeeease. I am new to the subject and i am editing a 32 min video. The resulting .AVI file is 7.6gb. ANy help on how to compress it to fit on a dvd.
    Thanks in advance . P.S i am using vegas 4

Use a good commercial video maker/editor/encoder program and your problem will go away.

The size of your final avi is enormous and suggest an absence of compression or encoding.

Ulead Movie Maker, Movie Studios, Pinnacle Studio 8, Sony Vega, Adobe Premier 6.0, 6.5 and Pro are all excellenmt examples, but there are others.

Play and learn

Christian

I use an excellent couple of programs to do this with large videos - I have MainConcepts MPEG Encoder first of all, this is important to convert your AVI into a compliant DVD MPEG. This will compress the size to begin with, maybe under 4.7GB. However, if not then there is another thing you can use.

Firstly, what do you use to author DVD's? I use Adobe Encore DVD and its great. You will need to create the whole DVD files first, creating the necessary .IFO .VOB and .BUP files. (obviously these are too big to fit on the DVD so do not attempt to burn)

Next, get DVD Shrink (google it and you will find it) and follow the instructions with it to open the DVD you just created. This program is used to shrink the DVD9 standards (about 8GB movies you buy) to fit onto a 4.7GB disc. So if I ever create a DVD too large, I use this to shrink it down, with very good results.

PS http://www.dvdrhelp.com/ is an excellent resource for DVD authoring!

Lee

98Iwatso,

Mainconcept works for me as well. Often when Tmpeg fails. Between the 2 I can always produce an encoded result. I have never really found out why one will fail ove the other, but I suspect it is to do with the audio relating to format, bitrate etec. Do you have any thoughts?

Do you know of another encoder in the same class as "Mainconcept" or "Tmpeg"?