Thread: Off-the-shelf Desktop for 1300 max?

London, UK

Default Off-the-shelf Desktop for 1300 max?

Morning everyone,

Sorry to ask this if it's already been covered elswhere but is anyone able to recommend an all-in-one desktop set-up for about 1200 (1300 max) please, that would fulfill these requirements:

- good editing performance
    - neat, slimline appearance (i.e. no big bulky base unit)
    - very reliable/good build quality
    - quite nicely designed (I have a problem with ugly-looking PCs hehe!)

I guess I've just pretty much described an Apple imac haven't I hehe?!

But as I've only ever used PCs I'm worried that I will find it hard to adapt to the environment and also that some software, websites, etc may be incompatible with macs still? Apologies for my ignorance here but I'm not a techie.

So is there as PC that can fulfill these requirements too, so that I can compare it against an imac in-store and see which I would prefer?

As I say, I'm not going to be able to build anything myself so I'm looking for an off-the-shelf package that I can just install the software and go hehe! 1200 is a lot of money for me and I can't afford to bungle my choice!

If anyone can point me in the right direction I'd really appreciate it.

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

Well, it's really difficult to say. Given that your primary concern is the looks of the base unit it's all rather too subjective for most of us to comment on isn't it? Unless we like the same design as you then we'll officially be talking nonsence won't we?

But basically...

Don't even conceive of having less than 1Gb of RAM. Have at least two seperate hard drives. One for the OS and one (much larger) for video.
    My current understanding is that for single processor boxes the P4 with HTT are better than AMD. Go for XP Pro rather than Home.