Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: codec problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN USA
    Posts
    48

    Default codec problem

    I've converted a VOB file to a AVI file, and installed "PDVcodec," but now I get this error when I try to bring it up in premier elements:

    The file C:\TJ\ultrasound\ULTRASOUND.avi cannot be imported because the codec required to play the file is not installed on your computer. If you have already tried to download and install the codec, close and restart Windows Movie Maker, and then try to import the file again.

    If anyone has any insight, I'd love to here it.

    thanks in advance, Troy Walls

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Keele
    Posts
    246

    Default

    I'm not sure about this, but have you tried 'importing' the file like it suggests on the error message?
    http://www.studioxpro.com

    :.: StudioX Productions :.:
    Dedicated to low-budget film-making

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    221

    Default

    Have you checked in device manager to make sure that the codec is indeed installed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    You say you "converted to an AVI file". The extension AVI is really a generic term to describe the video wrapper that contains the video. The video can be encoded with various flavours of compression.

    When you encode the video, use the Panasonic DV Codec.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN USA
    Posts
    48

    Default

    I used a virtual dub mod to convert the vob to avi, and I installed (right click *install) the Pdv codec...

    ...Seymore, yes I tried restarting the computer...

    ...JT, not sure where this device manager is...

    ..Marc, you say to "use the Pdvcodec when I encode," is that not what i've done....

    ...I guess I don't fully comprahend what the codec is actually doing, that's why I sound like such a noob...

    Thanks Troy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    221

    Default

    I'm learning VirtuaLDubMod myself. Before you do save as "name.avi" you can tell VirtualDubMod which codec to use in the encoding.

    Click on menu - Video - Compression and it will list all the codecs you can use. If you see the Panasonic codec we can ignore device manger as it means that it is installed.

    Click on it and use that to make your avi and see if it plays back okay.

    If anyone spots that I'm talking crap please step in and let me know.

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Codec Problem
    By cycangfx in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 04:11 AM
  2. Codec problem
    By Besthost in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2006, 10:35 PM
  3. Problem with Xvid codec
    By posthuman in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2006, 07:08 AM
  4. Wmv9 codec problem
    By ducA in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 09:48 PM
  5. panasonic codec problem
    By nky_84 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2005, 06:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •