Thread: I'm a moron. Forgive me.

Default I'm a moron. Forgive me.

I'm new to this whole thing. I tried following your guide, and as simple as it seems, believe it or not I couldn't follow it. Thats the reason for the topic of the thread. I have no clue about anything to do with camcorders.

I just wanted to know what a dv camcorder actually is. Is there a little disc inside the camcorder that you can take out? You see, I saw an advert for some Sony camcorder and it said 'Record and watch: make your own dvds' (or something to that effect) and it had a small dvd-esque disc sticking out of the side. It looked as if you could simply record and then watch on a dvd player instantly. Is that true or am I just a moron? If you think the latter do you mind not actually using the word Moron, i'm very sensitive.

Also, how much does an average DVD burner/writer/whatever you call them cost?

I will probably have lots more stupid questions over the coming months so please bare with me, and remember...I'm a moron.

what a dv camcorder actually is
    It's just a normal video camera that doesn't use VHS or Hi8 tapes but uses mini DV tape to record video in a digital format.

DVD ReWriters cost anywhere from about 60 to 180.

Blog Entries

No, you're not a Moron . The latest craze in the camcorder world is to record straight to MPEG2 on DVD. This great for those not wanting to edit, not so ideal for those that want to delve into the murky waters of PC video editing (it's just more of a hassle to edit).

And what's the ingenious name for these camcorders? why DVD Camcorders, of course

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...44847?v=glance

I have one of those Sony DCRDVD200 camcorders and I must say as the owner of various other ones from VHS to Mini DV, it is the best I have ever had. It is convenient, the quality is sufficient (1M pixels) and you can edit it on your PC if that's what you want.