Thread: complete nOOb

Default complete nOOb

Hello all.

I noticed in someones signature, shame on me forgetting their name, it said dont bother looking anywhere else for DV stuff. For a stranger to read that, well I guess you guys and gals already know this, "this seems a friendly place."

Anyhow, hopefully I've flattered enough of you out their in Tinterent land to offer me some advice and help.

Here is my posistion, I have a boring job and need some new direction, i've got a rough history in computers and art. Survey says, maybe you should do something that combines them?

I have a bog standard JVC DV camera with a firewire card, I thought for sound some mics and a miniDisc player along with websites that sell various sound files. I have a couple of ideas floating around for projects, some storyboards (still in my head) worked out at the bus stop. Lots of books and magazines on editing and filmmaking. I started with some footage of the cat I guess my next question is lighting. I am going to make my own lights with brooms and lightbulbs. Now, is my thought process going in the right direction? Simple really, just wanted to know if it looks like i'm making any rookie mistakes? I think the lighting is going to be an art initself but I am looking forward to all of it.

A quick note I guess to say Hi to all.

Don't skimp on the lights. Get 'real' ones. The "Blue Peter" versions it sound like you are going to make will cause you grief even in the short term. The colour balance will not only be wrong, they will not even be the same between bulb on different stands. This will cause you a nightmare in post production trying to 'fix' the colour grade.

My advice. Just don't do it. Get real video/movie lights or nothing.

if u dont want to go out and spend buy thoose cheat desk lamp (halogen) sumin like that