Thread: A Question About Converting Video Files With VLC...

Default A Question About Converting Video Files With VLC...

Hello all!

I decided to make a 2nd post but this time on a different topic since I'm a bit of a newbie editor & I'm still learning certain things as I go.
    I'm currently following a guide on how to convert videos to MP3 in VLC. This is a link to the article which provides the steps involved during the process: https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/2719/how-to-convert-video-files-formats-to-mp3-with-vlc/

But what I'm confused about is why they recommend/suggest/ tell you to set the encapsulation to WAV even though the files are getting converted to MP3 anyway... So, I would appreciate it if someone here can fill me in & help me to better understand why. I would be grateful. And don't forget- if anyone here has ANY questions or needs additional details, feel free to shoot & I'll be sure to answer back!

Thanks in advance to anyone here who can be of help!

Blog Entries

A reasonable question. However there is no option to encapsulate as an MP3 and you have to choose something!
    From what I can ascertain Encapsulation is simply the act of putting the video and audio sources into one container. But here the container is an MP3. Except apparently MP3 is not really a container.
    I'm all in favour of trying to understand things, but there is a limit and I long ago reached the point with codec/containers etc where so long as I gind something that works, and words well, I'll avoid setting my brain on fire by trying to understand all the destails.

Having said that, I'll certainly be interested if someone wants to explain.
    Tim

I get the feeling that tutorial you're working with is a bit backwards. The way to do it properly as far as I know is to just select the "Audio MP3" profile.
    From the official VLC help pages:
    Capture.JPG