Thread: why after effects?

Default why after effects?

I am fairly new to the video editing world, and I am trying to figure out what is the big deal about after effects? Meaning what is it that you can do in after effects that can't be done in premiere? I do realize that a.e. has some text animation presets, but is there any other reason to purchase it? I appreciate the help anyone could give me to understand this. I have been reading about it, and I just don't really see what it can do that there has to be a whole different program.

Thank you

Blog Entries

After Effects is designed specifically for compositing effects, meaning any effect requiring several layers will be acheived much more easily with AE as opposed to AP.

Indeed as Marc says...!

see this video from adobe to explain its benefits.

http://www.adobe.com/products/aftereffects/ae_qt1.html

Its a quicktime file...

Hope that helps!

Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    After Effects is designed specifically for compositing effects, meaning any effect requiring several layers will be acheived much more easily with AE as opposed to AP.
    The only thing with Marc's comment I would change is that I would have said that you could achieve thiose effects with far greater control rather than 'easier'.

I have to admit though, I asked myself this very same question in my earlier days (this means last year). Suffice to say that when you invest in a good book and read it and then start to play with AE you will understand the differences more and more.

Difficult to define the boundaries of each in black and white terms but play wioth them and you'll learn where they overlap and where/why AE extends way past Premiere in compositing and motion graphics.

Thank you everyone for your help in understanding. I actually did just go out and purchase a book on After Effects to try to understand it a little more. Thanks again.

Blog Entries