Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: splitting a signal. Is there such a thing?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    3

    Default splitting a signal. Is there such a thing?

    I'm new. I'm good at still photography but know nothing about video. I'm working on it.

    I want to film boat building and fly tying/lure making for fishermen.

    I have a macro still photography setup in my basement with light tents, lights and various background setups. I'll start with the fly tying. I have an aging Nikon D7000 and multiple lenses. The Macro 105 seems right for the closeup details of fly tying. I also have (access to) an Olympus OMD 5 mark II, which I'm told is better for video than the older Nikon.

    I have the camera on a small tripod with HDMI cable going out to a 27" monitor so I can see what I'm doing live on screen as I do it. My setup saves to an on-camera SD card. Is there some way to split that outgoing HDMI feed so it can simultaneously display on the big monitor, plus save directly to a tethered hard drive? All at the same time?

    Someone told me there is hardware for this sort of thing. But I don't know what it is. The SD card works well enough. But I would like the convenience of saving directly to a large Linux hard drive. Tethered saving is how I do all my closeup still photography.
    Last edited by pittendrigh; 02-20-2020 at 11:01 PM.

  2. Default

    Searching "HDMI splitter" gave me a bunch of results from $3 up. I have no idea what the quality is, though generally you can split audio or video signals to two devices pretty safely with a passive Y-cable.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bouldersoundguy View Post
    Searching "HDMI splitter" gave me a bunch of results from $3 up. I have no idea what the quality is, though generally you can split audio or video signals to two devices pretty safely with a passive Y-cable.
    RE> Searching on HDMI splitter
    Ouch. I could have done that.

    Perhaps what I really want is something like this (I want a live view plus a file on my hard drive, without grabbing the camera):
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...words=magewell

    This looks interesting too:
    https://sourceforge.net/projects/digicamcontrol/

    I'll keep looking...........
    Last edited by pittendrigh; 02-21-2020 at 01:48 PM. Reason: add interesting link

  4. Default

    Yes, I've got a Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle that can capture HDMI plus analog video sources via USB 3. I'm pretty sure you can get standalone HDMI capture devices as well.

Similar Threads

  1. The Wow! Signal
    By zamiotana in forum User Videos
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-20-2012, 12:50 PM
  2. signal to noise ratio
    By jeffers696 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 08:04 PM
  3. video out signal in prem pro
    By daveybabs in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-29-2006, 06:26 AM
  4. No Input Signal
    By Nikosony in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 11:34 PM
  5. s - video signal problem - Need Advice
    By mass in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-21-2005, 11:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •