Thread: Panasonic AVCHD Problem Windows 10 PC

Default Panasonic AVCHD Problem Windows 10 PC

Hi,

I'm pretty new to using my Panasonic HC-X1 and have been experiencing a strange problem with using the AVCHD footage from it.

I edited a couple of quick projects on Vegas a month or two ago and everything worked fine. However, I went to start editing a new project shot on the same camera in the same 1080p 50fps AVCHD format and the footage wasn't importing properly from the memory card. It imported the MTS files onto my hard drive but the clips weren't appearing in my bin. When I then tried to bring them into my timeline from the hard drive instead only the audio track would appear.

I was first worried my footage or card was corrupted but later realised that now none of my old AVCHD projects would play the footage I'd previously worked with either! The audio works on the MTS files imported through Vegas but the video tracks have all been disabled from every project on my system using AVCHD files from the camera.

I've complained to Magix about Vegas and they've been looking into it to no avail.

Another twist in the tale - I tried installing Avid Media Composer First (the 'lite' free version) on my system to test that and again the AVCHD files wouldn't work. So it appears to be a system issue rather than a Vegas specific issue.

But what makes this even more strange is that both VLC and Windows Media Player will play the MTS files saved on the hard drive without issue.

I can transcode the files using VLC and edit using these converted files, but I'd rather not have to do that all the time and I'm frustrated about my old projects not working anymore.

It's so strange and I wondered if anyone had any idea what might be causing the problem.

I'm not aware of any major changes to my system other than maybe a Windows 10 update. I tried updating my graphics card driver and updated Windows again, but no change.

System details:
    OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Home N