Thread: My first Osmo Video

Default My first Osmo Video

Hi

Would love some feedback on the filming/editing in this video and tips for future projects
    It's my first attempt to make a video wth the Osmo Pocket.

My own reflections: Video is probably to long and hyperlapse part is kinda messy. I am overall satisfied with other shots.

Blog Entries

Hi Runesole and welcome. Thanks for posting.
    You've asked for comments on filming and editing, but I suspect the later is going to be difficult as I'm guessing this is a test piece and editing really requires a purpose. We'll come on to that later.

Filming. One of the beauties of a small aperture camera like the Osmo Pocket is that focus is not really an issue. It will have a massive depth of field and consequently most of the image will be in frame. You demonstrate this well particularly with the shots as you move apst/between the upright wooden beams - see everything is in focus! Great. (here is a downside to this in that you cannot use septh of field to separate a close up of (say) a face from the background - but hey, we don't have any close ups here.

And that would be my first criticism. Where are the close-ups. Throw in some small details, door knobs, ropes around the harbour, basically anything - avoid just having mid and wide shots.

Next, be aware that the Osmo will stabilize movement, not eliminate it. The shots where you are walking with the camera still go up and down as you walk. It'sjust a bit smoother than if you didn't have stabilization. So it's like we're on a small boat rather than walking, but still a bit nauseating. The beauty of this camera is that it's 4K so you could edit it in post (with the right software) to eliminate the unwanted up/down movement and have a great 1080P film without losing any quality (the Osmo element of this is it will have eliminated virtually all of the motion blur caused by your walking movement)