Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Adobe Premiere

  1. #1

    Default Adobe Premiere

    Hey, im getting a new cam for christmas and i was wondering how i would go about editing it in Premier, the cam i had before only did 20 second clips so that was easy to import and edit, but the one im getting now makes one file upto an hour long, i know with windows movie maker it will spilt the video up into clips but adobe doesnt do this.. im sure there must be another way to edit it, rather than manually spliting the clips up on the timeline?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    When capturing clips from my DV camera (or any other source for that matter) I split the footage by "scene" - giving each "scene" its own file name. This helps enormously at the editing stage and dramatically reduced the amount of hard drive space taken up - a good proportion of my footage is never used and this is "rejected" at the capture stage.

    So my advice is to think about the editing process long before you actually sit down and create your movie! Shoot and Capture with editing in mind...

  3. #3

    Default

    So when you import the video from the cam to the pc (from DV tape) you can split it up into different files then? or do you mean film some, import it to pc, then film more, and then import that?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    You'll have complete control over your DV camera from Premiere - so its simple to record footage in "chunks" to your hardrive in one sitting. Simply queue the tape up to the start of the scene, click the record button and watch the film whilst it's captured. Then, when you are at the end of the scene, click stop, and you'll be prompted to enter a file name. Enter a file name and click save and the new clip will be enetered into your project. Repeat the process...

  5. #5

    Default

    Ah ok thanks mate..!

    Also, im wondering, how do you (you personally) store your video clips? do you import them from your cam and then keep them on your hd, which would probably use alot of space.. do you save them to cd? or just keep them on dv tape..?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I've got over 300GB of disk space, so I tend to keep a "project" on my harddrive for a few months after I've made a DVD (just incase I need to change something), then delete the whole thing from my drives once I'm happy with the finished product (I always keep the raw footage on DV tapes, so I'll always have that!)

Similar Threads

  1. adobe site says PREMIERE PRO 1.5 so whats premiere 7?
    By OnTheWay in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-17-2005, 02:19 PM
  2. Adobe Books : Adobe Premiere 6.0
    By kennysarmy in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2005, 06:21 PM
  3. New to Adobe Premiere Pro 7
    By webcd in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2004, 04:28 PM
  4. Adobe Premiere Pro
    By randysite in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2004, 04:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •