Thread: Storing raw material

Default Storing raw material

I am new to this game and have spent a fortune on micro mv tapes as I have not been able to convert them to DVD or find another way to get the pictures off the tape for re-use. What is the best way of doing this with Pinnacle Studio 9?

I know nothing about Pinnacle Studio 9, but someone who does is likely to have some pretty basic questions about

not been able to convert them to DVD or find another way to get the pictures off the tape for re-use
    1. What kind of camera do you have?
    2. Does it feature DV-out?
    3. Does it communicate via Firewire and/or USB?
    4. Do you have Firewire/USB inputs on your PC?

If the answer to all of the above is 'yes', we can move forward...
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

Default Type of Camera etc

Thanks for your interest, the camera is a Sony IP9 using Micromv tapes, with bluetooth, dv out, firewire connection and I have firewire and USB on my laptop, which is a Toshiba Qosmio E10 with Intervideo WinDVD as well as Pinnacle Studio 9 programmes.

I can download my tapes into the laptop and edit them ok, it is how I transfer the video to a removable DVD that I'm interested in achieving, so that I can store them and edit them later at my leisure.

The tapes are expensive and I want to be able to re-use them knowing I have access to the old raw material.