Thread: Editing a concert video from multiple sources

Default Editing a concert video from multiple sources

hi!

I hope the title makes sense, but here's the background;
    I'm pretty rookie in editing(as in filming too,heh), and I got this commission to shoot this a little "lower budget" concert video. Well ahem, I studied concert videos, made "storyboards" and so on, then me and my mighty team shot the concert with 3 minidv-cameras, and... now it's time to edit it!
    I have been given an powerful pc with adobe premier pro to my use, and... it's been years since I last edited with any of those premiers!>_<
    so,

I have been reading the tutorial/s here and there, but what I'm really wondering, is how you should begin editing when you have the same material from three different sources? I mean, how is it possible? I'm at loss, so any tips&hints are appreciated, as tutorial links too I'm the studying type, thanks!

Blog Entries

Premiere isn't the easiest of software to use in a multi-camera environment. The easiest way to do this in premiere is to start by synching up all the videos in 3 seperate layers. You can then "peel" away the layers to reveal the video underneath.

Start with what you consider to be your main cam in layer 3, then in layer 2 and 1 place the "cutaway" cams. When you want to cut to a second or third camera, simply razor video layer 1 (and perhaps 2) then move the new in point of the clip to reveal the clip underneath.

To see all 3 clips at once wilst you're doing this, drop one of the PIP presets onto each of the clips so that you end up with videos in seperate corners. You can then switch between the cams as above, then when your finished take out the PIP effect.

ah, thank you! This really helps! *until 5-minutes later: "um, I got his new problem..." * - just teasing^^

Blog Entries

It's not a problem if we've got an answer