Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Using both ports of a PCMCIA firewire card simultaneously

  1. #1

    Default Using both ports of a PCMCIA firewire card simultaneously

    Hi there. I've been given the opportunity to get a laptop at a very reasonable price that would fulfil my editing needs in every respect but one - it has no firewire connection! Having taken the time to read these forums, it's clear that this is essential, so I've found a PCMCIA card that will give me a firewire connection:

    http://www.dabs.com/uk/Search2/Produ...cia%20firewire

    Now, another thing I've picked up is the need to have a separate hard drive, and as I'd be using a laptop, this would have to be external realistically. It seems that most people feel that connecting the extra HD via USB isn't really good enough to maintain the transfer rates that are required for DV capture, and that it would be best to get a HD that is both fast and can be connected via firewire.
    So here's the problem: when I'm capturing video onto this HD, I'll need a firewire connection for both the camera and the HD. The PCMCIA card that I've found does appear to have 2 sockets, and in its specs it says that it has 2 connections, but not having really investigated the world of firewire/PCMCIA cards before, I don't know whether both can be used simultaneously. I can't see why not, but I guess I'd like to confirm with somebody more knowledgable before making an expensive purchase. Any thoughs would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    A seperate harddrive certainly isn't essential. I'd advise you get the second harddrive as a backup tool to keep your laptop drive in peak condition. Don't let that drive get too full and always degrag.

  3. #3

    Default

    That's encouraging news. Still, considering that the internal HD is only 80gb, and is unlikely, as a laptop drive, to have particluarly high rpm (spec not available), and that I'll probably have quite a lot of other data, then a dedicated HD does seem like a good idea. I suppose I could make the main HD my DV HD, and the external one could be used for other files.
    I'd still be interested to hear any opinions on the original question, however.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I may well be mixing my features here, but I know that you can daisy chain firewire devices (upto 63). I would therefore pressume that the two ports, I would therefor pressume (and this probably show my lack of uinderstanding!) one would be able to support two devices simultaneously - especially if the same data is flowing.

  5. #5

    Default

    That's what I thought would be the cae. Thanks for the confirmation.

Similar Threads

  1. Firewire card
    By gerrya in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2006, 04:20 PM
  2. BEST FIREWIRE CARD AND COST
    By kranthi4545 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-23-2005, 07:51 PM
  3. Firewire card problems
    By Phlibbit in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-29-2004, 05:59 PM
  4. thinking of getting a firewire card...
    By user in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-13-2004, 02:05 PM
  5. Need advice...Which firewire card to buy?
    By antiprice in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2004, 10:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •