Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Why when I preview my camcorder footage is it in slow-motion

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Midlands
    Posts
    7

    Default Why when I preview my camcorder footage is it in slow-motion

    hi everone and thanks in advance for any help & advice.

    I am trying to use Roxio Easy CD & DVD Creator version 6 (I know its not the best sofware but it will do for what I want it for) to edit my home video footage. It copies from my camcorder fine and creates all the video clips, but when I preview the clips it plays them in slow-motion i.e. frame by frame with no sound. This also happens when I open a video cllip in windows media player. It did....a couple of times play back at the correct speed and with sound, but now it is always playing back slow.
    I have a new computer so I shouldn't have a problem with memory space etc.

    I'm wondering if my computer is limiting it somehow? or capping the amount of space it can use?
    This isn't a big video file as I have just transfered about 10 minutes worth to have a play around with.

    Cheers - help most appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    what is your system spec?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Midlands
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Disc Drives - Maxtor 6B160P0
    Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    Memory - 512 MB RAM
    Video card - SiS 661FX
    Network Card - SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport

    Not sure if that's all of it? let me know if more is needed....

    Cheers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    221

    Default

    I had exactly the same problem and sorted it by playing around with the codecs on my system. I install / uninstall lots of software as I like playing around with trials. I'm sure that something overwrote or sent a previous codec back in priority. I installed the K-Lite codec pack and all is well. I'm sure that some purists would frown at installing a codec pack like this but it did the job for me. I figured if it all went tits up I was only a fresh XP install from being back to normal anyway.

    I'm no expert on these things. As I have everything backed up I just like to play around.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JT
    I installed the K-Lite codec pack and all is well. I'm sure that some purists would frown at installing a codec pack like this but
    I will take that in a positive way.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by svhs
    Quote Originally Posted by JT
    I installed the K-Lite codec pack and all is well. I'm sure that some purists would frown at installing a codec pack like this but
    I will take that in a positive way.
    The "problem" with codec packs is that they introduce quite a few variables into your system: it's hard to track down which codec is causing trouble for example. Great for people that don't want hassles as long as you don't have to troubleshoot a conflict .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    221

    Default

    You're taking it the right way my friend I value the advice you gave me regarding codecs.

    I only installed it after running it through a host of spyware / adware detectors and as a last resort but it worked fine. In the back of my mind was one of your posts when you spoke about the benefits of a fresh install of the OS and I really bought into that. There's always a way back.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Midlands
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    Quote Originally Posted by svhs
    Quote Originally Posted by JT
    I installed the K-Lite codec pack and all is well. I'm sure that some purists would frown at installing a codec pack like this but
    I will take that in a positive way.
    The "problem" with codec packs is that they introduce quite a few variables into your system: it's hard to track down which codec is causing trouble for example. Great for people that don't want hassles as long as you don't have to troubleshoot a conflict .
    I know that if I installed a L-Lite codec pack I would end up with alot of conflicts that I wouldn't be confident in sorting out. It sounds llike this is the problem but I don''t know how to sort it without risking my computer going off on one. anymore advice??

Similar Threads

  1. Slow Motion?
    By Yankeesg3 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2007, 07:06 AM
  2. Slow motion ???
    By Chalupa3266 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-01-2006, 07:25 PM
  3. slow motion?
    By spleenboy in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-02-2005, 11:32 PM
  4. Slow motion
    By ToxicSk8er in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-31-2005, 09:47 AM
  5. Slow Motion A/V together?
    By pickkill in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 08:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •