Thread: Need help with filters and effects to make my footage look more interesting!

Default Need help with filters and effects to make my footage look more interesting!

Hi,
    I am currently editing a video with adobe premiere using a mixture of footage - hd, cine film, mini dv and hi8 footage. I've been experimenting with re-filming footage from projections and the television but i would like learn how to manipulate some of the images in the computer using editing software.I am a beginner when it comes to after effects type stuff but am familiar with colour correcting and some of the subtler ways of editing footage. Anybody know of any simple filters, plug ins or methods i can apply to my footage to come up with some interesting results? for example creating an analogue look, glitches, strobes, heighten the colours, create texture, any kind of interesting looking filters that manipulate the look of the footage? Im interested in experimenting so open to any suggestions...
    Thanks in advance,
    Neil

My best advice to you is to hit YouTube and search for tutorials for things you want. Once you have the basics you might feel more confident in experimenting your self to create the looks you are after.

Neil,
    Try getting some sample footage of a texture you like and experiment with the blending modes in Premier. You can find it beneath the opacity setting for the footage when it is selected in your timeline.

Just place the texture/effect footage on a higher level video track than your main footage, and change the effect's blending mode to see the different ways Premier will mix them together. It works mostly the same as the layer blending modes in Photoshop. If you don't have enough video tracks, you can RMB your timeline sidebar and select "Add tracks...". This will allow you to change the amount of tracks for both video and audio if you want.