Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hi newbie here !!

  1. #1

    Default Hi newbie here !!

    Hello just stumbled across this site and wow what a revalation !!

    Can anyone tell me if its possible to split prem6 over two 17" tft screens ? I've always found it a bit cramped even on a 19" crt screen, with a recent upgrade to two tft's i was hoping to gain some room, but alas i've no idea how to do it !

    Any ideas - ta barny

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Hi Barny, I'm pretty much a newbie too, so hello! I think you should be able to do what you're asking but I don't think it's anything to do with the software you're using but more to do with the graphics card in your PC being able to support output to multiple monitors and treat it as one display. I do it with my laptop when I'm at my desk at work and I think we use nVidia GeForce FX cards. Dunno if that helps at all.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by millsee
    Hi Barny, I'm pretty much a newbie too, so hello! I think you should be able to do what you're asking but I don't think it's anything to do with the software you're using but more to do with the graphics card in your PC being able to support output to multiple monitors and treat it as one display. I do it with my laptop when I'm at my desk at work and I think we use nVidia GeForce FX cards. Dunno if that helps at all.
    The graphics card is fine, its set up as an extended desktop so i can drag and drop betwix the two screens, and i can drag the transition menu onto the other screen but i wanted to be able to move more .... !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by barny
    The graphics card is fine, its set up as an extended desktop so i can drag and drop betwix the two screens, and i can drag the transition menu onto the other screen but i wanted to be able to move more .... !
    All I can think of is that you make sure the window isn't fully maximised and drag one corner of the window to the other one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    When u have a dual head graphics card dont think of your desktop as being to screens and drag/dropping form one to the other - you only have one screen that's stretched over 2 monitors.
    Follow Mikes tip as it is a valid point.

  6. #6

    Default

    Ok will try tonight - thanks chaps !

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Interesting. I have a dual monitor set up at work, and just tried this out. It may be a limitation of the way my two monitors are set up, but, while I could move the editing toolbar, the audio mixer and the history and the info boxes to the secondary monitor, I couldn't move the monitor, timeline or project window. They would slide off the primary screen and all but disappear - but they wouldn't move to the other screen.
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Yeah I had this prob on Macs. - Quicktime would only appear on the primary display. - It's down to the GFX card u are running.

Similar Threads

  1. XM2 to pc ANOTHER newbie - here we go again!
    By Suz in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-12-2006, 11:51 AM
  2. Newbie needs help
    By ivorthedj in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-15-2006, 05:54 PM
  3. Newbie needs help
    By rpwall in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2005, 09:00 AM
  4. Another newbie.... (sorry)
    By BigBadWimp in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-19-2005, 01:32 PM
  5. Newbie here!
    By Ben Moxham in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 04:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •