Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unsatisfactory video capture

  1. #1

    Default Unsatisfactory video capture

    The video that I capture onto my computer from my digital-8 camera doesn't look as good as I want.

    When I hook my camera directly up to a tv, the video looks great. But when I capture to the computer, it appears that the resolution and/or framerate are reduced. I've tried fixing it by fiddling with the capture settings in Windows Movie Maker to no avail.

    Here is my system:

    Dell D810 15.4" widescreen laptop, 2ghz Pentium M
    Win XP Pro, sp2; 1 gig ram; 60 gig 7200 rpm hd
    320 gig 7200 ext IOGear hard-drive (usb 2.0)
    Sony VRD-VC20 "DVDirect" ext d/l DVD burner (usb 2.0)
    Sony DCR-TRV460 digital-8 camcorder (usb 2.0)
    My camcorder plugs into my laptop via usb 2.0. My camera can also do firewire, but one fault (the only fault) of this laptop is there is no firewire port. I could buy a firewire pc-card.

    My DVD burner is very cool, and allows me to burn DVDs directly from my camcorder using the A/V cable. The resulting DVD is of excellent quality, whether I play it on my tv or on my laptop. However when I try to rip the DVD to my laptop (using ImTOO DVD Ripper), the quality is reduced just like with the camcorder.

    Is it possible to capture video on your computer at the exact same quality (resolution & framerate) as what's on the camera?
    Dell D810 15.4\" widescreen, 2ghz Pentium M
    Win XP Pro, sp2; 1 gig ram; 60 gig 7200 rpm hd
    320 gig 7200 ext IOGear hard-drive (usb 2.0)
    Sony VRD-VC20 \"DVDirect\" d/l DVD burner
    Sony DCR-TRV460 digital-8 camcorder

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default Re: Unsatisfactory video capture

    Quote Originally Posted by devzoo
    The video that I capture onto my computer from my digital-8 camera doesn't look as good as I want.

    When I hook my camera directly up to a tv, the video looks great. But when I capture to the computer, it appears that the resolution and/or framerate are reduced. I've tried fixing it by fiddling with the capture settings in Windows Movie Maker to no avail.

    Here is my system:

    Dell D810 15.4" widescreen laptop, 2ghz Pentium M
    Win XP Pro, sp2; 1 gig ram; 60 gig 7200 rpm hd
    320 gig 7200 ext IOGear hard-drive (usb 2.0)
    Sony VRD-VC20 "DVDirect" ext d/l DVD burner (usb 2.0)
    Sony DCR-TRV460 digital-8 camcorder (usb 2.0)
    My camcorder plugs into my laptop via usb 2.0. My camera can also do firewire, but one fault (the only fault) of this laptop is there is no firewire port. I could buy a firewire pc-card.

    My DVD burner is very cool, and allows me to burn DVDs directly from my camcorder using the A/V cable. The resulting DVD is of excellent quality, whether I play it on my tv or on my laptop. However when I try to rip the DVD to my laptop (using ImTOO DVD Ripper), the quality is reduced just like with the camcorder.

    Is it possible to capture video on your computer at the exact same quality (resolution & framerate) as what's on the camera?

    Digital video capture is actually an inappropriate term since all there is to it is a transfer of bits (you know, the little 0's and 1's) which practically makes the process lossless. But your problem comes from using the wrong interface. Forget about USB and RCA A/V, get a FIREWIRE (iLINK, IEEE1394) card. Not as "cool" as copying to a DVD recorder, then struggling to get decent video from ripping the DVD, but it does the job it was designed for.

  3. #3

    Default Firewire is lossless?

    svhs,

    Thanks for your reply. I will happily get the firewire. Sounds like you are confident that firewire is the way to get lossless capture.

    I just want the resolution and framerate of the video captured to my computer to be of the same quality as what's on the camera.

    Can you explain to me why firewire is any better than USB 2.0?

    Thanks!
    Dell D810 15.4\" widescreen, 2ghz Pentium M
    Win XP Pro, sp2; 1 gig ram; 60 gig 7200 rpm hd
    320 gig 7200 ext IOGear hard-drive (usb 2.0)
    Sony VRD-VC20 \"DVDirect\" d/l DVD burner
    Sony DCR-TRV460 digital-8 camcorder

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Because that's the medium through which DV is speced to be transferred.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default Re: Firewire is lossless?

    Quote Originally Posted by devzoo
    Can you explain to me why firewire is any better than USB 2.0?

    Thanks!
    Although USB2 has a higher maximum data rate, firewire has a higher sustained data transfer rate, therefore is best for high bandwidth transfer such as video.

  6. #6

    Default When you're right you're right

    I bought a firewire card off newegg.com for very cheap (newegg is great), and Adobe Premiere Elements.

    Video capture works way better now. You were right.

    Thanks guys.
    Dell D810 15.4\" widescreen, 2ghz Pentium M
    Win XP Pro, sp2; 1 gig ram; 60 gig 7200 rpm hd
    320 gig 7200 ext IOGear hard-drive (usb 2.0)
    Sony VRD-VC20 \"DVDirect\" d/l DVD burner
    Sony DCR-TRV460 digital-8 camcorder

  7. #7

    Default

    reason why it looks good on tv and not pc is cause ur tv doesnt have as high of a resolution as a monitor, so itll always look shittier
    -Sean
    http://www.Sean-Nelson.com
    intel core2 i7 960
    16GB DDR3
    Radeon HD6850
    Audigy 2 Soundcard
    2 x 24 Inch wide screen LCD Monitor + 30 inch tv.
    TBs and TBs of Storage+ SSD

Similar Threads

  1. Video studio 8 capture without splitting video?
    By Tbarnzee in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-26-2008, 08:38 AM
  2. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 07:37 PM
  3. Capture Video Has Audio/Video Sync Problems
    By theroacher in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-11-2005, 10:40 AM
  4. My video capture process is locked - can't capture
    By Lance2004 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-27-2004, 11:20 PM
  5. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 11:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •