Thread: Blu-ray burning nightmare, advice needed.

Smile Blu-ray burning nightmare, advice needed.

Hello everyone,

I found these forums today, after having a stressful few days. Being a novice I only found out a few days ago that I can't burn 4k video onto a standard Blu-ray disc. But that aside, to my horror, after saving a Mpeg4 file and watching how lovely it looked on my tv (on a usb stick), and looked lovely played on my laptop, when I burned a Mpeg2 version onto a Blu-ray disc, it looks so bad on both tv and computer. I have been up all night and day trying to figure out what could be wrong. I followed all steps from various youtube bloggers about rendering settings.

I put my computer away, as I need some sleep. But when I have time after work, I will be back at it trying to figure it out. I have a horrible feeling someone will tell me Mpeg 2 won't look as good, and it's normal. But hopefully I'm making a text book error somewhere. I've been through all the rendering settings over and over. The only thing I think it may be, is the bit rate needs to be higher for the mpeg2.

Could there be anything obvious I'm overlooking?

Any advice would be great. Now off to sleep! Thanks.

Chris.

What resolution are you rendering the file ie 1920x1080p ? What bit rate ? we may be able to help with a bit more info. Also is your TV a 4K screen ?

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    What resolution are you rendering the file ie 1920x1080p ? What bit rate ? we may be able to help with a bit more info. Also is your TV a 4K screen ?
    Hello,

Thank for your reply. All the settings when rendering for mp2 is the same as when I render for mp4. When I change anything just before I render, it's just to make sure it's pal, and the same frame rate. I'm not rendering for 4k in this project, this is for 1080p. The difference in quality is the mp2 version has much less sharpness, clarity and vibrancy so looks cheap and nasty.