Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Post - Your Opinions Requested

Default First Post - Your Opinions Requested

Hello everyone, I am very new to the movie game, in fact the only things I know are from my DVD collection. I was wondering if you could look over a video I recently made with my buddies and give me feedback to the technical aspects of the vid. I realize that there is no real story and my buddies couldn't act their way out of a box, but my ultimate goal in this film was to see if I could establish some sense of visual style. I'll let you judge whether or not I succeded.
    Running Time: 5m 48s
    Size: 10.2 MB

www.livewireart.com/truth.html

lost interest very quickly. - Unfortunatley for you there are hundreds of these spoof fight type vids out there.

YOu need some more sound effects during the fight and the edit needs to be tighter.

Good effort

Blog Entries

I had to force myself to watch it all the way through.
    One thing stands out a mile...you need a Steadicam. To try to attempt that hand held is asking for disaster, and sorry to say, that's what you finished up with.

Irishmark is spot on too about the edit. Don't be too put off though. My advice would be to take that footage re-edit and aim for half (or less)running time, find better music, and add some more sound effects.

Sorry chum. Just my opinion.

Blog Entries

I had a wee butchers yesterday and would tend to agree. Some nice touches, but make it much more tight and intense.

A few things:

-Don't use so much zooming
    -Get a tripod
    -Use fading when your songs ends
    -Use some costumes. A big mafioso with a DC shirt doesn't look realistic

And overall, it was a bit too long.

But still, for a first video, it was alright. We all have to start somewhere.

6. Default

For a first Video, i was impressed.

I liked some of the camera shots.

But - far too long, as others said, re edit it and make it 50% shorter,this will then speed up the action and make it far more watchable.