Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Id love some critique

Default Id love some critique

I've been teaching myself how to film and edit for the last year, mostly by you tube tutorials and studying other people's videos. I've made a bunch of "selfie" style travel videos with a Gopro, but this is my first project making something more serious and artistic. I'd really love to know what you guys think. Thanks for watching!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAx4AGKfBjw

Wow, really nice cuts and a great variety of footage. Did you plan the wipe transitions in advance or were they faked in post?
    Maybe a bit too many hyperlapse shots.
    The artistic portion took me until 1:30. From then on I would have needed some kind of story and/or information to keep me interested.

Blog Entries

No much to say other than I thought this was a great job.
    Tim

Great video - and the music worked with the footage - good job

Thanks for the feedback Ray! I knew I wanted to do some wipe transitions, but nothing was really planned. I just moved the camera at the end of a bunch of shots and then experimented in post to see what would work together.

Thanks Tim and Zamiotana!

awesome job! it was like watching a professional tourism video.

i like how you did all those panning in and out shots. *sorry if i have the terminology all wrong*

Thanks bro! I appreciate it!

Blog Entries

OK. just watched again as I know you didn't come here to receive only praise (although that's always nice) but also constructive criticism. I'm really struggling to find anything I can see room for improvement though. There are some nice changes of pace. For once I'll disagree with XXL Ray about story (and here I'm disagreeing with my own frequent comment too). This is a film which attempts pretty successfully to give a flavour of Sri Lanka and normally 'd limit this to one and a half minutes, but this is just such an enjoyable watch that I don't mind having more.