Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Time Lapse assist

  1. #1

    Default Time Lapse assist

    So here's the skinny. I've been dabbling in time lapse editing with a go pro for a bit now. I've recently gotten tired of using the the go pro editing for my time lapses. I was wondering though... since the go pro studio editor does make getting rid of the fish eye effect really easy. Is there a noticeable amount of quality loss when the program renders your still images into the .avi files you can use for editing later? I am only asking this because recently when importing my stills to sony vegas.. saving.. and the dragging the .veg file over to edit all images at once. The render for a 1:30sec clip is taking upwards of 3 hours..where as before the time required to render was no where near this. I feel like there's something new I can learn here be cause 3 to 4 hours for clip less than 2 minutes when I have about 5 to 6 min total just makes my bum hurt :-(

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    São Paulo - Brazil


    I use the "import" feature of Vegas over the plain .jpg GoPro images. You select them all (they MUST be in a sequence of names/numbers, otherwise Vegas will not creat a seguence). Make sure you select the sequence box on the import menu. This way Vegas will create the best "movie file" to work within it. Sorry if I said the obvious part.

  3. #3


    Thanks for the reply. I saw something on that earlier today but I think I misunderstood the process. I just select a root file as the starting image and check sequence right? When I first tried using this I selected all four thousand images.. which ended up being amusing. Though will importing like that help with the render speed at all or do timelapses naturally take an age and a half to render in Sony Vegas?

  4. Default

    I just click on the first file in the sequence, Vegas thinks for a few seconds and then the "select sequence" check box is enabled. I check the box and, after a popup that allows one to "name the tape", Vegas adds the video file to the Project Media. From there I drag it into the timeline (note: ancient version of Vegas). Repeat for each GoPro folder. I keep the image files in the folders and drag them onto an external drive. Got tired of waiting for the GoPro software to do its correction process. And yes, I think there was a loss of quality using their conversion but I'm not certain. I've found that I tend to zoom in a little, which makes the fish-eye less noticeable.

Similar Threads

  1. Extracting a time-lapse clip from a 6 hour, real-time, mpeg movie file- PremEl-v10
    By jbsandown in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2012, 10:28 AM
  2. Time Lapse with x fps
    By light_in_tunel in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2012, 09:07 AM
  3. Can i haz time lapse
    By Kluanelaker in forum User Videos
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 12:19 PM
  4. Need help with Time Lapse
    By Baobab in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 09:31 AM
  5. Time Lapse
    By CamCar in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-04-2007, 08:16 AM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts