Thread: Both cameras failed to record

Default Both cameras failed to record

Hi. I am pretty new to video shooting but have worked as a stills photographer for around 20 years. I had a project to shoot a promo video of a mandolin ensemble (of which I am a member) while we were in a recording studio making a CD.

I had an EOS 5D MkII on on tripod with a Tascam recorder on top with a cable from the Tascam to into the sound input. I had an EOS 6D on another tripod with a Vivitar zoom mic plugged into that camera. Both cameras also had USB OTG cables plugged in so that I could set them up from my phone using DSLR Controller, although when they were started the phone was not connected to either cable.

Now the odd bit. I started the 6D first. It recorded a whole 4 seconds (including me walking away from it, having just set it going) and then stopped. I then started the 5MkII but it recorded nothing. As I could only see the fronts of them I didn't know they had stopped. I had to join the ensemble and play music so couldn't monitor the cameras.

Because of time constraints we didn't have time to shoot this again.

When I got home I put both cameras back on their tripods and connected the same equipment to them, including the USB OTG cables. None of the settings had been changed. Both cameras recorded several times for their full duration without one failure.

The only difference I can think of is that the location had changed. The 5D not recording could be down to user error, but the 6D recorded 4 seconds, so what was going on there. Any ideas would be very welcome. I really need to learn from this and not make the same mistake in a job I am paid for.

Thanks for your time.

Well if you are getting paid to make a video you need to be monitoring the audio and video as you record

A big monitor might help if you need to be strumming on the banjo at the same time, as well as a headset from the audio capture