Thread: Advice on a laptop.

Default Advice on a laptop.

Hello,

I am very new to the editing world, especially since I haven't tried very hard due to having a very messed up, slow laptop.

I am 21 years old, and me and my best friend are simply creating a lower-quality skit film that simply contains a bunch of funny videos that we have put together.
    This includes a short zombie killing skit, short clips of funny conversations and jokes, our reactions whilst gaming and general stuff outside.

I have a lot of footage on my Macbook Pro, but I am looking to get a Windows laptop.
    The quality is not going to be too high, but it must be reasonable.
    (None of this Youtube clips filmed on a potato palaver)

I am looking at an MSI laptop since I would also like to use it for gaming (Skyrim and the Sims predominantly).

Therefore, can anybody give me advice on the specs required for basic skit/montage editing laptop that can withstand some gaming please?
    Or, examples of exact laptops that would be suitable.

I would also like to add that I'm aiming for under 1000, but I am open to ideas that are a little higher in price.

Thank you so much.
    Sorry if there is any unnecessary info there.

Blog Entries

The spec of the laptop will make no difference to the quality of the video. What it can make a huge difference to is the editing experience (it is very difficult to time cuts to music, for example, if playback within the editor is laggy).
    Anything capable of gaming should be capable of basic editing.
    You haven't said what software you will be using or what type of footage you will be using (eg the codec),