Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which camcorder? Live gigs!

Default Which camcorder? Live gigs!

Hi,
    I want a budget compact camcorder to film my band playing live gigs.
    So I guess the biggest issue is coping with indoor/dark lighting (although the band are lit by lights obv) also "steady cam" stabilization would be a high priority for me.
    A external mic jack for my Zoom H1 would be good but not necessary as I can sync up with the film, later
    Auto focus too would be a prio

Any advise would be greatly appreciated as I am a camcorder noob

Quote Originally Posted by Dr Grafenberg View Post
    Hi,
    I want a budget compact camcorder to film my band playing live gigs.
    So I guess the biggest issue is coping with indoor/dark lighting (although the band are lit by lights obv) also "steady cam" stabilization would be a high priority for me.
    A external mic jack for my Zoom H1 would be good but not necessary as I can sync up with the film, later
    Auto focus too would be a prio

Any advise would be greatly appreciated as I am a camcorder noob
    Have you looked at the Vixia HF G40? If it fits your budget I think it is a good one based on what you are asking.

Quote Originally Posted by zamiotana View Post
    Have you looked at the Vixia HF G40? If it fits your budget I think it is a good one based on what you are asking.

So you consider a 1000 a budget camcorder ?????

I know it may sound dumb but try a GoPro.

I use many different combos for recording from a go pro (I have 6 the hero, the 3 and 3+), I also use a Panasonic HC-X920 and D810/D4s.

When I set up the gopros, I use four/five on simple clamps pointing at the group and the audience, remember gigs are better lit than you think, not idea but colour etc can be adjusted later, not ideal but a place to start and learn, don't spend a fortune at the offset

You do NOT need thousand pound cameras, in fact one of the easiest quick ones I use is a cheap Canon I picked up for 60