Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Feedback please

Default Feedback please

Hi all

New to this forum and only slightly less new to video shooting and editing. This is my first attempt at editing a video using Adobe Premiere Elements. I'd appreciate any feedback:

https://youtu.be/LmtCNWS2Xkc

Thanks!

Blog Entries

Hi and welcome,

I presume you were on your own which makes it rather difficult to shoot you on your jourmey. Yet that's really what this film needs as we didn't really get a feel that it was the walk that you described in your notes.
    Landscapes are interesting only for a limited time - especially if we do not know what we are looking at (captions/ voiceover?) Generally shots with movement in them are better for film - especially if they have people as this adds a context and a sense of scale to the shots. Or you can try to introduce camera movement, but pans and tilts wear thin very quickly. Try to use only a bare minimum. (Again without equipment like sliders/dollies it is difficult to get good camera movement). Also, when you pan, try to ensure you come to rest on a properly framed shot of a target subject (I can see you've done this in some)
    Remove all zooms. Or rather use zooms only when there is a very good reason (and example I often use is a mountaineer high up a mountain - start with a close up then zoom out to show the enormity of the challenge) Generally cuts work better.
    Get rid of the auto exposure - we had a few shots where you panned/tilted from dark to light or vice versa and the sky changed colour as the auto exposure cut in.

This isn't meant to be critical,The film is far from unwatchable - the shots are generally steady and reasonably well exposed. The things above are all things I forget to do all the time, but by reducing or eliminating these features, I think you'll find your films will improve.
    Tim

You have some copyright issues with the music.