Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Attempting to Start a Video Review Series

Default Attempting to Start a Video Review Series

So, I'm very new to all of this, and I have been thinking of starting a YouTube series of video game reviews (just to put it out there, not necessarily make money) and I was wondering if anyone around would have some answers to a few questions I have, if there's anyone around that knows about game capture and expected video quality for youtube, specifically.

I wanted to start the series with some semblance of effort and quality, so I've gathered up some gear that isn't a webcam and my laptop's microphone, while trying to keep it cheap. Currently, I have:

Elgato Game Capture HD (the original, not the HD60)
    Samson Go Mic (very small, but has surprisingly clear recording quality)
    Pop Filter (cheap one I found on Amazon)

Is there anything you could think would be missing or very sub-par?

Due to the stylistic choice of the videos I intend to make, I will be forgoing a camera, as there won't be any live-action video. However, this leads me to a slight complication. To explain, in these videos, I would like to have an overlay in the bottom right corner, of a character showing a bit of my reaction to what I'm saying. I'm having the art assets commissioned by someone, and I wanted to know: What would be good dimensions and image quality/format for this? They haven't started on the actual assets that will be used in the video, but when they asked about quality and size of the final version, I didn't know what to say. So, I figured that I would ask around a forum that specializes in video editing and production such as this to find out.

In case anyone was wondering, I will be capturing footage mainly from my PS3, in 1080p whenever possible.

I can't wait to hear back

It sounds like you already have some kit

just have a quick go, see how it turns out, and you'll probably find any major deficiencies yourself - cost is $0