Thread: Planning for Retirement

Huntington, West Virginia USA

Default Planning for Retirement

I have not been on the forum much lately, but Lord willing on May 28, 2016 I will retire from the U.S. Senior Service and leave the deserts of the Middle East to settle back to our family home in the scenic climes of the West Virginia Appalachian foothills. And at that point I'm planning to pursue my hobby of filmmaking on a full-time basis. I can finally give up my day job!

Although I used to work in commercial radio and television production in the USA over three decades ago, it was not until about 2005, when inexpensive video cameras and non-linear computer-based editing came along, that I plunged into learning the 'art' of filmmaking. It's a good thing I really didn't know much about the movie-making industry when I started, otherwise I probably would not have decided to go this path. After 11 years I cannot say that I'm an expert by any means, but what I have learned is a deep appreciation for the skills and talents of the folks who make a living in that industry. There are just so many aspects and specialty fields involved in making movies that the amateur independent filmmaker of today must be a jack of all trades and have the humility to know that they will be lucky to master only about one. As for me, I gravitated towards editing and post production because I like it, and because Kuwait is not conducive to outdoor location shooting because of the heat, dust, and the growing paranoia people have when they see a strange person filming in public places. Consequently, I've been doing most of my work in the editing system, using what footage I could make or scrounge from free sources.