Thread: Best Cameras for sound for Interview type videos

Default Best Cameras for sound for Interview type videos

I am a graphic designer/Video Editor for a company that is currently using a gopro hero 3 for their interview videos. They finally have the go ahead to purchase something better ($700 range). But I know nothing about cameras.
    I purchased a lapel mic and adapter but the gopro doesn't seem to recognize it (you can hear the interviewer but not the interviewee). We do interviews in offices with some background noise such as air conditioning. But also do interviews in our facilities that have big machines. I clean up what I can in Audacity but I really want something that will give me much clearer sound. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    The lapel mic we have is this one:
    Some of our videos to get an idea of the sound quality we have currently:
    In-Office Interview:
    Facility Demonstration:
    Thanks in advance.

2. Default

The camera isn't really the factor in sound quality except to the degree that it degrades the audio after it's captured by the mic. I think the GoPro mic input is mono so that's why it only captures one of the mics.

The primary factor in the sound quality is the mic and its placement. If you want less background noise then you need to place the mic as close as possible to the source. Every time you reduce that distance by half you gain 6dB relative to the background noise. Some mics reject sound coming from the back. Use that type and aim it toward the source and away from the noise. Record two mics, interviewer and interviewee, on separate tracks (which I think you were trying to do). That will allow you to balance them out better.